You can manage your deployed Private Sites from the Sites > Manage page. From this grid, you can sort and see different elements of a site. Click ‘Edit’ for a site to access different settings, configuration and control operations for a site.
- Display Name
If you set a display name for a site, it will appear here. Often, we refer to a site by the display name if it’s set or by the machine name if it’s not set.
The machine or hostname reported by the computer. This name is periodically updated from the site.
- Street Address
If you’ve overridden a physical location for a site, it will appear here. Pinning a site to a specific geolocation may be required if the geo-ip location is not accurate, for example if the site is behind a VPN or MPLS network.
- Last Heard From
How long ago our servers last heard from the site.
How many sensors are deployed to the site.
- Free Space
Periodically, a site will query for how much disk space is available. Its reported here.
- Log Alarms
Whether a site is receiving alarms to log. Read more about alarm logging.
- In Maintenance
Whether the site is in maintenance mode.
- Can Upgrade?
Whether a newer version of the site is available. You don’t have to update a site, only if you want to.
Click here to edit, change properties of a site or perform site operations.
The list of sites that are displayed in the grid can be filtered in various ways. This is helpful if you are working on deploying sites and sensors.
- All sensors
This is the default and displays all sites for your account that you have permission to view.
- With sensors
Only display sites that have sensors deployed to them
- Without sensors
Only display sites that DON’T have sensors deployed to them
- With upgrade errors
Only display sites that have had upgrade errors
Sometimes sites go offline due to various reasons, such a computer or Virtual Machine being re-imaged or re-purposed. You can also filter sites by when they last reported by selecting a time period with the Last Heard From dropdown.
Various operations can be performed against a site, provided that it’s still contacting the Exoprise servers. If a site hasn’t contacted our servers within a minute or so, then it’s probably offline, and you won’t be able to perform any operations against it.
Schedule a refresh of communications with Exoprise Servers, stops and restarts the sensors
Schedule a stop and restart of the Windows Service that is the Private Site
- Reboot Machine
Schedule a reboot of the machine running the site
Operations may take a minute or two to be received.
Private Sites are automatically updated after extensive testing. You can also schedule an update to get the latest changes sooner or if instructed to by Exoprise support. If there is a problem updating a site, you will receive a notification within the product.
This is self-explanatory. If you delete a site, all the sensors get deleted too. Once you delete a site from the Exoprise servers, the site will cleanly uninstall itself. This can take a few minutes.
In this top panel you can change the display name for a site as well as configure whether you want to log alarms to the site. Read more about Alarm Logging.
You can set the address for a site in this panel. Read more about updating a site location.
In the Maintenance Mode panel, you can configure whether the site is hidden in certain views. Sites in maintenance mode are, by default, not visible in many of the dashboard widgets like the Solution Overview and Sensor Heatmap.
You may want to put a Private Site in maintenance mode if the site is temporarily offline, a network is undergoing changes, or you are rebuilding a machine. By putting the site in maintenance mode:
- Dashboard users won’t see that the site is offline in the Overview and Sensor Heatmap
- Won’t be notified of alarms and especially off-schedule alarms
- Won’t see trend graphs for the sensors from sites that are in maintenance mode
Maintenance mode can be configured for a period of time or indefinitely. Maintenance mode can be automatically deactivated for a site once the sensors start running and uploading data.
To configure whether to see all sites and sensors regardless of whether the sites are in maintenance mode, there is a new setting at the bottom of your profile page. By default, it’s set to NOT show any sites that are in maintenance mode.